bank holidays Spain 2021

When you live in Spain there always seems to be some kind of holiday or fiesta day, whether nationally or locally. Many expats call bank holidays in Spain “Red Days” because they are always marked in red on calendars and in diaries.

It’s important to know when the bank holidays are in Spain as usually everything will be closed on these days. Often businesses and schools will take an extra day off before or after the bank holiday if it falls on a Tuesday or Thursday in order to make a long weekend. This is called a puente or bridge.

Bank holidays often vary from region to region and each village will often have their own local holidays, but the national bank holidays will be the same for the whole of Spain. If you want to make sure you always know when there’s a bank holiday in Spain, we’ve put together a Spain bank holiday calendar for 2021…


1st January – Año Nuevo (New Year’s Day) – National

2nd January – Reconquest Day – Granada

6th January – Día de los Reyes Magos (Epiphany / Three Kings) – National

23rd January – San Ildefonso – Toledo


1st March – Andalucia regional holiday – Andalucia

1st March – Balearic Islands regional holiday – Balearic Islands

19th March – San José – Basque Country, Extremadura, Galicia, Madrid, Murcia, Navarre & Valencia


1st April – Jueves Santo (Holy Thursday) – National except Catalonia

2nd April – Viernes Santo (Good Friday) – National

5th April – Lunes de Pascua (Easter Monday) – Balearic Islands, Basque, Country, Cantabria, Catalonia, La Rioja, Navarre & Valencia

23rd April – Aragon regional holiday – Aragon

23rd April – Castile and León regional holiday – Castile & León


1st May – Día del Trabajo (Labour Day, Workers’ Day or May Day) – National

3rd May – Madrid regional holiday – Madrid

15th May – San Isidro – Madrid

17th May – Galician literature day – Galicia

30th May – Canary Islands regional day – Canary Islands

31st May – Castile-La Mancha regional holiday – Castile-La Mancha


3rd June – Fiesta del Corpus Christi (Corpus Chrisiti) – Castile-La Mancha

9th June – La Rioja regional holiday – La Rioja

9th June – Murcia regional holiday – Murcia

14th June – San Antiono – Ceuta

24th June – San Juan – Catalonia, Ceuta & Valencia


25th July – Feast of San Jaime – Basque Country

28th July – Day of the Institutions – Cantabria


5th August – Santa Maria de Africa – Ceuta

16th August – Asunción de la Virgen (Assumption of Mary) – National


2nd September – Day of Ceuta – Ceuta

8th September – Asturias regional holiday – Asturias

8th September – Extremadura regional holiday – Extremadura

8th September – Our lady of victories – Meililla

11th September – National day of Catalonia – Catalonia

15th September – Cantabria regional holiday – Cantabria

17th September – Day of Melilla – Melilla


9th October – Valencian regional holiday – Valencia

12th October – Fiesta Nacional de España – National


1st November – Día de los Santos – National

9th November – Virgin of Almudena – Madrid


3rd December – San Francisco Javier – Navarre

6th December – Día de la Constitución – National

8th December – Día de la Immaculada Concepción – National

25th December – Christmas Day – National

26th December – St Stephen’s Day – Catalonia

We hope you find this Spain bank holiday calendar for 2021 useful. Don’t forget to bookmark this page so you don’t miss any important dates!

Pin for later:

Spain Bank Holiday Calendar 2021 | Our Spanish Adventures